loop-article-single.php

On the Path to Success with Artificial Fibres

[22.02.2019]

Chemical firm expands its customer base and develops new materials

Iryna Smartselava works for Europe’s largest producer of artificial fibres, SvetlogorskKhimvolokno AG in Belarus. The state enterprise set up a new product line two years ago to produce multilayer non-woven fabrics. These so-called laminates are breathable and are popularly used in hygiene products. The German market for hygiene products, which has a volume of about €4.7 billion per year, is very attractive, although it is also conservative as regards new suppliers, reports Iryna Smartselava who is an economist. With the help of the Manager Training Programme, despite the obstacles, she nevertheless succeeded in establishing contacts in this industry, which is new for her firm, and in delivering samples. For 2019 her sights are set on two major customers.

Iryna Smartselava will soon have an im­portant meeting. In the near future, a conference for hygiene products will be held in the Croatian city of Dubrovnik. She is scheduled to meet a firm from Germany there. That meeting could be a milestone in their further cooperation: it concerns a one-year contract to the value of €400,000 for the delivery of laminates as an outer layer for nappies. Six months have passed since the first meeting with the firm during the MP. During these six months there have been countless nego­tiations, sample deliveries, product mod­ifications and a comprehensive search for raw materials. “Agreements in this indus­try sometimes take months or even years”, notes Smartselava. The industry is known for its conservative attitudes, especially in Germany. Initiating contact is difficult and emails often go unanswered, reports the sales manager. With its good reputa­tion, the MP functions as an important icebreaker for establishing these compli­cated business connections.

Used her stay in Germany to foster her business relationships: businesswoman Iryna Smartselava

Germany is the Main Buyer

After Russia, Germany is the most im­portant export market for the chemical giant, which has an annual revenue of about €120 million – with products that are largely manufactured on German machines. The nonwoven fabrics are produced in systems built by the Reifen­häuser Group and Trützschler GmbH and Co. KG, for example. Orders from Germany pre­viously only came from the furniture, construction and technology industries. The major customers include Continental AG. This global player from Han­nover relies on quality from Belarus in the production of turbocharger hoses.

New Product for Existing Customers

The existing customers also include Sima GmbH, a wholesaler for painting supplies. Smart­selava used the MP to develop their rela­tionship. In close collaboration with the customer, she had a new product devel­oped: breathable cover sheets for floors. When wooden floors don’t breathe under cover sheets, damage may occur as a result of the dampness. The innovative sheet prevents this from happening. The first sample delivery was sent to the me­dium-sized enterprise from Baden-Würt­temberg in October 2018. Smartselava expects to close the deal in 2019.

Organic Market is Still a Way Off

But not all meetings have been grand successes. So far there has not been any agreement with WILOGIS Hygie­neprodukte GmbH, whose product range includes nappies. The company is interested in organic laminates, but the chemical firm is not ready for that. There is a lack of suitable sources of raw materials, regrets Smartselava. “I have assigned that to our development department because that’s an interesting market for us in the future she says”.

Founding a Promotional Group

The requirement profiles for the individ­ual nonwoven fabric layers in hygiene laminates vary greatly: they must be more permeable or less permeable. In coordi­nation with the customers, the different layers are developed and made available. Three employees in the sales department have been assigned to a promotional group for the hygiene market to survey the needs of the customers and increase sales. There is major potential, and more than one third of all the nonwoven fab­rics the firm produces are already sold in the hygiene sector, and the numbers are increasing.

Smartselava’s most important job is to en­sure full capacity for the new production facilities. She accomplished that in 2018 with many smaller orders. From 2019 on, the line should increasingly be producing for larger orders. Those will be coming from the contacts established in Germa­ny and the new promotional department.

Aus dem Programm

loop-article-single.php

Mit Kunstfasern auf Erfolgskurs

[25.02.2019]

Chemieunternehmen erweitert seinen Kundenkreis und entwickelt neue Stoffe

Iryna Smartselava arbeitet für den größten Kunstfaserproduzenten Europas, die belarussische SvetlogorskKhimvolokno AG. Das staatseigene Unter­nehmen hat vor zwei Jahren eine neue Produktionslinie errichtet, in der mehrschichtige Vliesstoffe produziert werden. Diese sogenannten Laminate sind atmungsaktiv und werden gern für hygienische Produkte verwendet. Der deutsche Markt für Hygieneartikel sei mit einem Volumen von rund 4,7 Milliarden Euro im Jahr sehr attraktiv, wenngleich auch konservativ, was neue Zulieferer angeht, berichtet die Betriebswirtin. Dennoch ist es ihr mit Hilfe des Managerfortbildungsprogramms (MP) gelungen, Kontakte in diese für den Konzern neue Branche aufzubauen und Proben zu liefern. Für 2019 hat sie zwei Großkunden in Aussicht.

Iryna Smartselava steht kurz vor einem wichtigen Treffen. Demnächst findet im kroatischen Dubrovnik eine Konferenz für Hygieneartikel statt. Dort ist sie mit einer Firma aus Deutschland verabredet. Das Treffen könnte zu einem Meilenstein in der weiteren Zusammenarbeit werden: Es geht um einen Jahresvertrag in Höhe von 400.000 Euro über die Lieferung von Laminaten als Außenbeschichtung für Windeln. Seit dem ersten Treffen mit der Firma während des MP sind sechs Monate vergangen. In dieser Zeit gab es unzählige Gespräche, Probelieferungen, Produkt­anpassungen und eine umfangreiche Re­cherche nach Rohstoffen. „Abschlüsse in diesem Segment dauern oft Monate, manchmal sogar Jahre“, weiß Smartselava. Die Branche gilt als konservativ, besonders in Deutschland. Die Kontaktaufnahme sei schwierig, E-Mails blieben oft unbeantwor­tet, berichtet die Vertriebsmanagerin. Das MP mit seiner guten Reputation sei ein wichtiger Eisbrecher für diese komplizierte Geschäftsanbahnung gewesen.

Nutzte den Deutschlandaufenthalt, um ihre Kooperationen zu vertiefen: Unternehmerin Iryna Smartselava

Deutschland ist wichtigster Abnehmer

Nach Russland ist Deutschland der wich­tigste Exportmarkt für den Chemiegigan­ten, der rund 120 Millionen Euro Umsatz im Jahr macht – mit Erzeugnissen, die zum Großteil auf deutschen Anlagen gefertigt werden. Die Vliesstoffe werden unter an­derem in Anlagen von der Reifenhäuser Gruppe und von der Trützschler GmbH und Co. KG gefertigt. Auf­träge aus Deutschland ka­men bisher aber nur aus der Möbel-, der Bau- und der technischen Industrie. Un­ter den Großkunden ist bei­spielsweise die Continental AG. Der Global Player aus Hannover setzt auf bela­russische Qualität bei der Produktion von Turbola­derschläuchen.

Neues Produkt für Bestandskunden

Zu den Bestandskunden ge­hört auch die Sima GmbH, ein Großhänd­ler für Malerbedarf. Smartselava hat das MP genutzt, um die bestehende Koope­ration zu vertiefen. In enger Abstimmung mit dem Kunden hat sie ein neues Produkt entwickeln lassen: atmungsaktive Abdeck­folien für den Boden. Wenn Holzböden unter Abdeckungen nicht atmen können, entstehen mitunter Beschädigungen durch Nässe. Die innovative Folie verhindert das. Eine Probelieferung an das mittelständi­sche Unternehmen aus Baden-Württem­berg fand im Oktober 2018 statt. Smart­selava rechnet mit einem Vertragsabschluss im kommenden Jahr.

Ökomarkt ist noch Zukunftsmusik

Doch nicht alle Tref­fen waren von Erfolg gekrönt. Mit der WI­LOGIS Hygiene­produkte GmbH, die unter anderem Windeln produziert, konnte bisher kein gemeinsamer Nenner gefunden werden. Das Unternehmen ist an Öko-Laminaten inte­ressiert, doch darauf ist der Chemiekonzern nicht ausgerichtet. Es fehle an passenden Rohstoffquellen, bedauert Smartselava. „Ich habe das an die Entwicklungsabteilung weitergegeben, denn das ist ein interessanter Zukunfts­markt für uns“, sagt sie.

Gründung einer Promotiongruppe

Das Anforderungsprofil an die einzelnen Vlieslagen in Hygienelaminaten ist sehr unterschiedlich, sie müssen mehr oder weniger durchlässig sein. In Abstimmung mit den Kunden sollen nun verschiedene Schichten entwickelt und angeboten wer­den. Innerhalb der Vertriebsabteilung wur­den dafür drei Mitarbeiter in eine Promoti­ongruppe für den Hygienemarkt abgestellt, die die Bedürfnisse der Kunden abfragen und den Verkauf ankurbeln sollen. Das Potenzial ist groß, mehr als ein Drittel aller hergestellten Vliesstoffe fällt bereits in den Bereich Hygiene, Tendenz steigend.

Die wichtigste Aufgabe von Smartselava ist die Auslastung der neuen Anlage. Für 2018 hat sie diese mit vielen kleinen Aufträgen erreicht. Ab 2019 soll die Linie verstärkt größere Aufträge produzieren. Dafür sor­gen die in Deutschland angebahnten Kon­takte und die neue Promotionabteilung.